Owl of Athena
Book Index
Greek Coins and Their Values Volume 1
Greek Coins and Their Values Volume 2
Roman Coins and Their Values Volume I
Roman Coins and Their Values Volume II
Roman Coins and Their Values Volume III
Roman Coins and Their Values Volume IV
Roman Coins and Their Values Volume V
Roman Coins and Their Values 4th Edition
Roman Silver Coins Volumes I-V
Greek Imperial Coins and Their Values
Byzantine Coins and Their Values
The History and Coinage of The Roman Imperators
Ancient Coins
Book Order Form

Ancient Coins
1965 Lhotka Award
Roman Coins 1964 Lhotka Memorial Prize by the Royal Numismatic Society, London

Ancient Coins
Key Pattern
Book Publications
Rare CoinsHome Page
Book Publications Ancient Coin Certification Service Coin Offering Academy Articles

Numismatics Roman Coins and Their ValuesRoman Coins and Their Values, Volume 2
Millennium Edition (in five volumes)
by David R. Sear
Volume I: The Republic and the Twelve Caesars, 280 BC - AD 96

This is the successor to the single-volume general catalogue of Roman coins, first published in 1964 and most recently revised in 1988. The new 'Millennium Edition' marks a radical departure from previous traditions: the introductory articles have been thoroughly revised and the imperial biographies rewritten and enlarged; there has been a major expansion of the listings, which now include a complete type catalogue of the Republican series and much fuller representation of the Imperial types (each with its place of mintage and precise date); and a dramatic increase in the number and quality of the illustrations (all of which are now incorporated in the text). This expansion has necessitated a new multiple-volume format, like the companion work on Greek coins, and will provide collectors and dealers with a far more comprehensive work of reference.

Roman Coins and Their ValuesThe first volume covers a period of approximately 375 years, from the origins of the Roman coinage in the Republican period down to the violent end of the second Imperial dynasty, the Flavian, in AD 96. The second covers the following 139 years, from the first of the Adoptive Emperors (Nerva, A.D. 96-8) to the end of the Severan Dynasty in A.D. 235; Volume III spans the half-century down to the death of Carinus (A.D. 285); while Volume IV extends the coverage down to death of the first Christian emperor, Constantine the Great, in A.D. 337. The fifth volume will conclude the series with coverage down to the death of the eastern emperor Zeno in A.D. 491.

Volume I contains a listing of almost 3,000 coin types, a considerable proportion of them illustrated. Copies of all five volumes are now available for ordering.

Price $90.00 plus $13.00 postage & handling (domestic orders) or $25.00 (abroad).

Ancient Coins

Roman Excavations
Ancient Coins
Numismatics About David R SearUseful links © David R. Sear - POB 7314 Porter Ranch, CA 91327 USA